PSL no-ball drama leaves stars stumped

A last-ball umpiring decision that saw a Pakistan Super League game end in confusion and left the likes of Kumar Sangakkara and Brendon McCullum scratching their heads has been vindicated thanks to a rarely-used clause in the International Cricket Council’s playing conditions.

Karachi Kings players begun celebrating on Monday evening when Lahore Qalandars batter Sohail Akhtar, needing three runs to win off the final ball of the match, was caught at long-on.

But there was a dramatic turn of events when the third umpire, on review, found that Usman Khan had bowled a no ball.

Umpires credited Lahore with the extra run from the no ball, but there was confusion as the batsmen had crossed, but no run was awarded.

There was further confusion as Gulraiz Sadaf, who had been at the non-striker’s end for the preceding ball, faced up for the free hit.

Sadaf was run-out coming back for a suicidal second run off the final legitimate delivery, leaving the scores tied and Qalandars captain Brendon McCullum puzzled as Pakistan leg-spinner Yasir Shah appeared to explain what had just occurred to him.

Comments are closed.